• RSS CASL Community on Yahoo

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Subscribe through FeedBlitz

  • Archives

  • Admin

Un-Conference Colorado

  1. Have you ever attended an Unconference?  If you did, what was your reaction to it? What worked? What didn’t work?
  2. Would you be interested in attending a Colorado Unconference?
  3. Would you be willing to help plan or create or participate in a Colorado Unconference?
  4. Would you attend an Unconference at the Broadmoor in Colorado Springs?
  5. Would you prefer a conference during President’s Day weekend or Martin L King Day weekend? Or, does it matter at all when it might be?
  6. What theme do you like for an Unconference?
    1. Web 2.0
    2.  Online Resources
    3. Technology Related Best Practices
    4. Social Networking
    5. Inquiry-Based Projects
    6.  21st Century Learning
    7.  ???????

Let your thoughts be heard!

Susan Gilbert

CASL President

4 Responses

  1. I am an almost librarian, teaching high school math right now and finishing my MLS in the spring. Hopeful to be in the library next year! I haven’t seen anyone else reply yet, but I’m definitely interested in an Unconference!

    I have never attended an Unconference, but I am definitely interested in going to one! I’m not officially a librarian yet, but I would help with planning and logistics or anything else if that is needed. 😉 It doesn’t matter when it is, as long as I have time to get down to Colorado Spring. (I live in Lakewood.) I would love to know more about 21st Century Learning. Social networking and Web 2.0 are both subjects that I already feel comfortable with, but would not turn down the chance to learn more and discuss with others. Any current trends & issues for school libraries would be wonderful! I’m not in the library yet, but very anxious to learn more and network so that I can be a school librarian very soon. I’d love to hear more about this if it happens! Let me know if there’s any way I can help!

  2. Glad to hear from you, Courtney!

    I am hoping to get this planned within the next 2 months if all goes well. Right now we are working on securing the Broadmoor as our spot, which is a fabulous place if you have never been there.

    I appreciate your feedback on the possible topic. Tell all of your friends to get involved, too. You do not need to be a school librarian to attend. All types and shapes of educators are invited.

    I will take you up on your offer to help out! I need all the help I can get, since I have never been involved in and Unconference either. I’ll keep you posted on the progress so keep checking the blog for more info. You are on MY LIST now. 🙂

    My email is gilber.susan@comcast.net in case you need or want to contact me.

  3. Courtney -Love your enthusiasm! Thanks for offering to help!

    I am wondering if everyone is familiar with the term “uncoference.” Wikipedia has some good background information and links: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Unconference You also might want to look at the wiki of perhaps the largest education un-conference, Educon: http://educon20.wikispaces.com/ and finally, our own local Colorado educon: http://colearning.wikispaces.com/Home+2009

    Susan -thanks for getting the ball rolling on this. I think this will be an incredible opportunity to bring together school librarians from across the state to discuss issues, brainstorm solutions, and network, network, network!

Leave a Reply

