• RSS CASL Community on Yahoo

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 21 other followers

  • Subscribe through FeedBlitz

  • Archives

  • Admin

A Weeding Challenge

I just moved into a library that has not been weeded in several years, so needs some serious attention.  I have found numerous books published in the 50’s, 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. My biggest surprise so far was a book written in German, with a copyright date of 1900.

Can anyone out there beat that date? I am sending out a weeding challenge to all of you. How many people can beat a 1900 copyright date in their collection?

Happy Weeding!

Susan Gilbert, CASL President

2 Responses

  1. I just found another book from 1900!!! There have been several from the early 1900’s such as 1913, 1917, 1924 and so on.

    Is this unusual for high school collections? Please help me out with your feedback. Do I keep them in a special location?

    Should I keep all of the poetry titles from the 1950’s, 60’s and 70’s? What are your thoughts? Even obscure ones?

    Thanks,
    Susan Gilbert, CASL President

  2. As I continue the weeding process, I seem to find surprises every day. Last week I discovered another 1900 copyright date, and today actually found one book that was published in 1899, with an original copyright date of 1891. Main Traveled Roads by Hamlin Garland. Absolutey amazing!

    My mini-museum collection seems to be growing!
    S
    usan Gilbert

Leave a Reply

